About Us

McCulloch Genealogy Centre

The Hector Exhibit Centre, now known as McCulloch House Museum & Genealogy Centre, was a national exhibit centre. It opened on July 21, 1973 as a project by the Federal Government in commemoration of the 200th Anniversary of the landing of the Ship Hector.

The McCulloch Genealogy Centre hosts a broad range of temporary exhibits focusing on local history and culture during the summer months. It is also the location of the archival facility and research centre. With a growing interest in the heritage of Pictou County, this abundance of archival material includes hundreds of personal and corporate documents as well as family histories, newspapers on microfilm, vital statistics and much more. These resources combined with an extensive local history library provide visitors, students and academics alike with the opportunity to deeply explore the heritage of Eastern Canada.

Mission: Telling the story of the Scots in the New World.

Vision: The portal for Scots, past, present, and future.

The Pictou County Genealogy & Heritage Society operates and manages the McCulloch House Museum on behalf of the Province of Nova Scotia, and the McCulloch Genealogy Centre is operated as a private community museum.  PCGHS is a private Board of Trustees made up of up to 15 citizens from Nova Scotia with a common interest in history & local heritage.  A full time curator is employed to manage and operate the site as per provincial requirements.  The Annual General Meeting is held in the early fall of each calendar year.


 

 

 

McCulloch House Museum

The McCulloch House Museum is a locally managed site of the Nova Scotia Museum family of provincial museums. It boasts interpretive panels designed to tell the story of Thomas McCulloch and his role in education and politics in Pictou in the early 19th century, as well as a large collection of artifacts, many being Dr. McCulloch's personal belongings from his teaching at Pictou Academy.

McCulloch House Museum is listed on the Canadian Register of Historic Places.  Built circa 1806 as a one and a half story dwelling, the home was christened Sherbrooke Cottage by McCulloch. The roof was raised to a gambrel roof and dormers were added in the early 1900's.  


McCulloch House Museum is open from May to October.

Mi'kma'ki

The McCulloch House Museum & Genealogy Centre is in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral territory of the Mi'kmaq People.

The Mi'kmaw symbol of an eight-pointed star signifies na'gu'set, the sun, and holds great significance in traditional Mi'kmaq spirituality. 

This petroglyph depicting an eight-pointed star was found in Bedford, Nova Scotia in 1983.  It is believed to be over 500 years old. There are over 800 Mi'kmaw archaeological sites in Nova Scotia.

The McCulloch Genealogy Centre and gift shop is open from Monday to Friday from 10 am to 4 pm.

 

The McCulloch House Museum is open from May to October.  Off-season visits can be arranged by appointment and weather permitting.

The McCulloch Escape Room is open by appointment only and weather permitting.

The McCulloch Genealogy Centre is open by appointment. Please email pcghsoc@gmail.com or call (902) 485-4563 to book an appointment.